I'm not going to lie, I'm kind of autistic about the Earthbound Halloween Hack. It strikes me as interesting outside of it probably being the first notable thing Toby Fox made. There's a good amount of things going on with it that no one really talks about.

The character you control, Varik, is from a whole different set of games (the Brandish games), but the hack itself has its own identity; making the most with its source material. Of course, with it being made for a simple Halloween event, it's bound to BE its own thing, even a little bit.

Like, of course it's all Halloween-y and spooky and stuff, but there are moments in it that really stick out to me, like a voice persuading Varik to kill a monster, and you having to literally back out of the singular dialogue option in order to progress, or the implications that Dr. Andonuts is a closeted homosexual. And while it is edgy at times, I absolutely ADORE it for that.

There's barely any reason as to why Varik is there anyway, he's just there in Twoson for a monster he's been requested to kill. Although, I barely know anything about the Brandish series, so I wouldn't know if this is some deep cut that like, five people are aware of.

It's just. Really cool to me, okay. Am I looking into it too much? Maybe. but I don't care. Shut up.

back

Music:
Her Theme - Undertale Halloween Hack